Awards will be given to the top three overall male and female finishers in each of the following age groups: 15 and under, 16-19, 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75-80, 80 and over. Awards will be given to male and female Masters Champions (40+) and overall male and female. Other Awards include: Clydesdales 39 and under, Clydesdales 40 and over, Athena 39 and under, Athena 40 and over, Relay – male, female and mixed (first place only), and the Scott Christmas Award. The award ceremony is slated for 10:30, but we will work with the timing company to assure the accuracy of the awards before awarding them. Please stay for the awards. If you cannot stay for your award, simply send us your request in writing with $10.00 to Sandestin Triathlon, 9300 Emerald Coast Parkway West, Destin, FL 32550 and we will mail you your award.


An exciting feature of the Sandestin Triathlon is a special award of honor. The award is named for the first-ever recipient during the 1997 race — Scott Christmas. Scott is a triathlete and regular participant of the Sandestin Triathlon. He suffered a near-fatal plane crash, but was able to make an amazing comeback. The 1997 Sandestin Triathlon was Scott’s first race after his tragic accident just one short year earlier. Scott credits God and the hospital staff for his remarkable recovery. If you or any of your friends have faced a similar experience of bravery and demonstrated the ability to make a comeback, send us the person’s name and a brief explanation as to why they deserve this award. The award is open to all triathletes. Only one winner will be chosen. The name will be announced during the post-race party September 23, 2017. Entries are due by August 10 and must be emailed to